Professor Zhiru Zhang was named as one of the five winners of the 2018 Young Under-40 Innovators Award at the 55th Design Automation Conference (DAC) held in San Francisco, CA on June 24-28, 2018. The winners, from both innovative companies as well as universities, were announced during the conference’s opening keynote session at the 55th gathering of DAC, the premier conference devoted to the design and automation of electronic systems. The Under-40 Innovators Award is sponsored by Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Electronic Systems Design Alliance (ESDA), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). The award recognizes the top five young innovators, who already have made a significant impact in the field of design and automation of electronics.

Prof. Zhang received DAC Under-40 Innovators Award